top of page

Independent Theatre - Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

“I've got the guts to die. What I want to know is, have you got the guts to live?”

This famous line in Tennessee William's famous play leaves the audience with just so much to think about. Here I'm giving you both the play and the original movie. Use your guidelines to compare and contrast the two. Which did you like better? Why?

The play...

The movie...

Pay special attention to this scene...

“Big Daddy: What makes you so restless, have you got ants in your britches? Brick: Yes, sir... Big Daddy: Why? Brick: - Something - Hasn't - Happened... Big Daddy: Yeah? What is that? Brick [sadly]: - the click... Big Daddy: Did you say the click? Brick: Yes, click. Big Daddy: What click? Brick: A click that I get in my head that makes me peaceful Big Daddy: I sure in hell don't know what you're talking about, but it disturbs me. Brick: It's just a mechanical thing. Big Daddy: What is a mechanical thing? Brick: This click that I get in my head that makes me peaceful. I got to drink till I get it.”

What do you think the "click" is?

I love this play and I hope you do too! =)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page